The Lede
Shock for KCR as TRS candidates lose Legislative Council election
2019 Polls

Shock for KCR as TRS candidates lose Legislative Council election



The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi in Telangana received a setback on March 27 with TRS-backed candidates losing elections to three seats of the Legislative Council

Main opposition party Congress and Congress-backed candidates delivered a shock to Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao and the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi by defeating TRS candidates in three seats of the Legislative Council.

Two outgoing members of the upper house of the state legislature were among the candidates who lost the elections.

Senior Congress leader and former Minister T Jeevan Reddy was declared elected from Karimnagar-Adilabad-Nizamabad-Medak graduates constituency as the counting of ballots ended in the early hours of Wednesday, March 27.

Jeevan Reddy, who was defeated in Assembly elections, trounced his nearest rival Chandrashekhar Goud of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) by a margin of 39,430 votes.

K Raghotham Reddy of Progressive Recognised Teachers’ Union (PRTU), supported by the Congress, won Karimnagar-Adilabad-Nizamabad-Medak teachers constituency. He defeated former Member of Legislative Council (MLC) Paturi Sudhakar Reddy, backed by the TRS.

TRS supported candidate and former MLC P. Ravinder was also defeated in Nalgonda-Khammam-Warangal teachers constituency. United Teachers’ Federation (UTF) candidate A Narsireddy, supported by the Congress and the Communist Party of India, won the seat.

Polling for these seats were held on March 22.

Inputs by Team Lede